I Don’t Need You Now

I don’t need you now

I needed you when I was in school and felt afraid
Felt as if I’d lost my way
Felt like I did not fit in or wouldn’t make it through
That was when I needed you

I needed you when I had doubts
Things I couldn’t figure out
Felt like I would fail my tests
Sleepless nights I couldn’t rest
Wanted reassurance to get me through
That was when I needed you

You said you didn’t do long distance
Rejected despite my persistance
Said you weren’t ready to commit
Said you were dealing with some shit
Didn’t stop you from seeing her…guess she got you through…
That was when I needed you

I don’t need you now that I found me
Found joy and worth; security
Found God, better yet He found me
I finished school, got my degree
Say I’m what you want to settle down
But baby, I don’t need you now

Don’t need you now, in my career
Guess that’s why you showed up here
I’m happy, settled and complete
Sought after, wanted and pursued
You want me?  Babe, I don’t need you

So I guess this is bye
See you around…
Cuz guess what?
I don’t need you now

~ by livedlovedlost on June 23, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
