My Soul (Explicit)

My soul is bursting out of my skin
Thoughts of lovers and God and heaven and sin
Wish someone would let me in
Try love all over again
You win. I lose. You triumph. I bruise.
You move on to the next
As if all we had was sex
You were there when I graduated
Said you were proud, I finally made it
You held my hand when I was afraid
Said you’d fight when no one stayed
I guess it’s just a game you played…

You said you never meant it
Gave me your heart just to rescind it
You chose when to end it
Feels like I’m three days into this life sentence
I wince when I think of the last time I came
Only words on my lips were your sweet name
I can still hear them uttered that night
By the incessant rain and candlelight
I tried to fight as if I still possessed
A piece of your heart you may have left
You have no love for me now, or perhaps never cared
All the passionate trysts, all the dreams that we shared
Now staring down at this negative test
I have no reason to contact you again
As I lay here, soul bursting out of my skin
With thoughts of lovers and God and heaven and sin

~ by livedlovedlost on June 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
